The Devil’s STILL in the Details

Moving right along with the build list – it’s time to make a center line runner and skeg. There isn’t a whole lot of info on the skeg and center line runner in the plans or the build instructions so I kind of figured it out as I went along.

Runner 1

I started by continuing the outer stem to the center case. I used the same white oak that I had used to laminate the outer stem. You can see in this picture that the outer stem and the centerline runner do not quite line up. The boat was still in the build stand when I attached the outer stem and I had to guess where the center line was on the bottom. Looks like I got it wrong. Oh well. Once it’s faired and painted it’s going on the bottom never to be seen again. Hopefully.

skeg 4

The last of my Eco Relics white oak was milled up and put in the clamps for the skeg blank and while it set up I went to work figuring out what it should look like.

skeg 2

I picked up the overall height of the skeg from drawing 2. It looks to me to be about 150mm. Starting with a piece of plywood that approximated the curve of the bottom, I used a long piece of 80 grit sticky back sandpaper stuck to the bottom and a whole lot of elbow grease to perfectly match the ply to the boat. A long straight edge from the center case surround to my 150 mm mark on the plywood gave me a rough outline of the skeg. With that done I cleaned the skeg blank up in the power planer and then transferred the shape from the ply to the skeg.

skeg 3

Purely for decoration I cut an “S” curve into the skeg, glued it down, and called it good. Since I was in an “S” curve mode, it was time to make the trim pieces for the upper plank.

I am not sure what they are called but I approximated the shape from the plans and used my jigsaw and spindle sander to shape them. The screws are temporary. After the glue sets up I am going to pull them out and fill the holes with QuickFair.

This is the aft one.

finalie 2

And this is the forward one.

The shop foreman kept a close eye on my progress. So much so it wore him slap out.

Wore out

3 thoughts on “The Devil’s STILL in the Details

  1. Ohhhh- great progress! You’ve raced ahead of me.

    I’m happy to see that decking was easy. It looks like you didn’t have to steam the rub rails, which is surprising.

    Did you consider fiberglassing before adding the stem?

    I like your approach to the bottom. I don’t see why people go crazy perfecting the bottom of a boat! If you can see the bottom of my boat, then a few flat spots are the least of my problems!

    Do you have a date, or is that a secret?

    Kenny

    Liked by 1 person

    • As far as a date goes I am keeping it loose, sometime in 2017 will be good for me. The reason I put the outer stem on first is so I could have the upper and lower rub rails done before I flipped the boat. They didn’t need to be steamed but it took a lot of muscle to get them into place. I am currently doing my final sanding before starting the painting process. Wish me luck.

      Like

Leave a Reply

